It’s not an ideal situation for any driver - having their license revoked because of a mistake while on the road. The idea of having to find other transportation and losing the independence of being able to go anywhere at any time is frustrating.
If you are charged with a crime that could make you lose your license, you’ll want an experienced team of attorneys to help you right away. That’s where Burrell & McCants, LLC can help. Contact our offices today to see what we can do for you.
How Can a Driver Lose Their License?
There are many reasons a driver could lose their license.
The most common reason a driver loses their license is because of a DUI conviction. There are strict rules when it comes to being convicted of driving under the influence. A judge has the ultimate ruling when it comes to the punishment and for second or subsequent offenses, the consequence gets more severe.
- 1st Offense: Jail time for up to one year; fines from $600-$2,100; six months to two years of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) and 90-day license suspension.
- 2nd Offense: Five days to up to one year in jail; fines from $1,100-$5,100; two to four years of an IID; and one-year license suspension.
- 3rd Offense: 60 days to one year in jail; $2,100-$10,100 in fines; three to six years of an IID; and three years license suspension.
In 2016, Alabama law was changed to no longer require a six-month suspension of a driver’s license for possession of a controlled substance. However, this does not stop a judge from suspending a driver’s license if he or she wants to. While some controlled substance charges are usually misdemeanors, felony charges such as possession of cocaine or a large quantity of marijuana while driving are more likely to result in a license suspension.
In Alabama, drivers will have their license suspended if they have 12 points on their license. Points are given out for various violations including:
- reckless driving (6 points);
- driving under the influence that did not require a mandatory suspension (6 points);
- failure to yield right of way (5 points);
- passing a stopped school bus (5 points);
- wrong side of the road (4 points);
- illegal passing (4 points);
- following too closely (3 points);
- failure to stop at a stop sign or traffic light (3 points); and,
- all other moving violations (2 points).
Points for less severe violations will usually stay on a driver’s license for three years while it can take much longer for more serious violations. Depending on the number of points a driver has will also determine how long their license is automatically suspended:
- 12-14 points — 60-day suspension
- 15-17 points — 90-day suspension
- 18-20 points — 120-day suspension
- 21-23 points — 180-day suspension
- 24 or more points — 1-year suspension.
Having Too Many Traffic Tickets
A driver is at the mercy of a judge if they find themselves in a courtroom too often. A judge can rule that a driver is unfit to be on the road and have the driver’s license suspended for an amount of time at their discretion. Additionally, if a driver has too many unpaid traffic tickets, they could find themselves without a license too. The judge has a final say-so when it comes to these matters.
Not Paying Child Support
Alabama is one of the states where not paying child support could mean the driver having their license suspended. If a parent is three months behind on making payments, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services can request to have the driver’s license suspended.
Drivers should get help now before any of these circumstances become a reality. It’s better to face the problem head-on than assume it will go away — because it won’t. Let our team at Burrell & McCants, LLC take a look at your case and see how we can keep you on the road.